Downloads

Energy Assistance

Energy Assistance

ENERGY PROGRAMS 

 

CIP – Crisis Intervention Program

The Crisis Intervention Program (CIP) assists individuals and families who are experiencing a heating or cooling related crisis.  A household is in a crisis if it is currently experiencing or is in danger of experiencing a life-threatening or health related emergency and sufficient, timely, and appropriate assistance is not available from any other source.  This fund runs from the state fiscal year July 1st through June 30th or until benefits are exhausted. 

 

LIEAP – Low Income Energy Assistance Program

The Low Income Energy Assistance Program (LIEAP) is a one-time credit to help families with their heating source.  This program starts December 1st for households who contain either a person age 60 and older or a household containing a person with disabilities that receives services through the Division of Aging and Adult Services (DAAS).  Any other household can potentially receive benefits from January 1st through March 31st or until funds are exhausted if all eligibility requirements are met.

 

Share the Light

Share the light is funded 100% from monies contributed by Duke Energy Progress customers, employees and from corporate donations.  Allocations are made only to counties that have Duke Energy Progress residential customers.  Allocations are based on the number of Duke Energy Progress residential customers in each county.

 

NC Rate Settlement

NC Rate Settlement is funded 100% from monies contributed by Duke Energy Progress customers, employees and from corporate donations.  Allocations are made only to counties that have Duke Energy Progress residential customers.  Allocations are based on the number of Duke Energy Progress residential customers in each county.

 

How Do I Apply for Energy Assistance?

ONLINE CLICK: Here

IN OFFICE AT: Harnett County Department of Social Services

                      311 West Cornelius Harnett Blvd.

                      Lillington, NC  27546

 

APPLICATION--CIP/LIEAP/Share the light/NC Rate Settlement

Print Paper Application: 

Energy Application

Energy Application Spanish

 

FAQ's 

Do I have to have an appointment or come in the office to apply?

No, you may apply in person, paper application, telephone, fax, email or online at https://epass.nc.gov/

 

How long does it normally take to complete a Crisis Intervention Program (CIP) application?

It may take up to four days depending on the verifications needed; however, it is possible that it can be completed as early as the same day.

 

When do you start processing LIEAP applications?

December 1 – March 31, anyone can apply during these times; however, only households containing an elderly person age 60 and above or households containing persons with disabilities that receive services through the Division of Aging and Adult Services (DAAS) may possibly receive benefits from December 1 – December 31.   All others may possibly be able to receive benefits January 1-March 31.

 

Can I apply for LIEAP more than 1 time a year?

You can apply as many times as you would like; however, you can only receive LIEAP one time a LIEAP season which is December - March. 

 

Contact Us:

INTAKE PHONE NUMBER 910-814-6823
Fax number 910-912-1628

Amber Jackson 910-814-6839 / ajackson@harnett.org 

Amy Lehmkuhl 910-814-6841 / alehmkuhl@harnett.org

Candace Ridgley 910-814-6669 / cridgley@harnett.org

Mya Sellars 910-814-6847 / msellars@harnett.org

Breanna Wilson 910-814-6815 / bwilson@harnett.org 

Chrystal Johnson-Hammonds / Lead Worker 910-814-6633 cljohnson@harnett.org

Tammy Matthews / Supervisor 910-814-6628 tmatthews@harnett.org

Becky Wise / Program Manager 910-814-6693 / bwise@harnett.org